America’s Republican Governors Discuss Policy Priorities At 2019 RGA Annual Conference

Texas Gov. Greg Abbott Elected RGA Chairman, Arizona Gov. Doug Ducey Elected RGA Vice Chairman

WASHINGTON, D.C. – 24 Republican governors and governors-elect from across the country gathered to discuss policy priorities, best practices from the states, and efforts to elect and re-elect Republican governors at the Republican Governors Association’s (RGA) 2019 Annual Conference, held this week in Boca Raton, Florida.

On Wednesday, November 20, Mississippi Governor Phil Bryant moderated a plenary session including Alaska Governor Mike Dunleavy, Georgia Governor Brian Kemp, Oklahoma Governor Kevin Stitt, and South Dakota Governor Kristi Noem titled “Passing the Torch to America’s New Republican Governors.” Featuring four governors elected in 2018, the discussion focused on what some of America’s newest Republican governors have been able to accomplish in less than a year in office. Participating governors discussed a host of issues including Governor Stitt’s workforce development program, Governor Kemp’s efforts to support Georgia’s teachers, Governor Noem’s initiative to fight South Dakota’s meth epidemic, and Governor Dunleavy’s successful efforts at recruiting more Alaska state troopers.

On Thursday, November 21, Arizona Governor Doug Ducey moderated a discussion featuring Indiana Governor Eric Holcomb, Missouri Governor Mike Parson, North Dakota Governor Doug Burgum, and South Dakota Governor Kristi Noem titled “State of the States,” which focused on governors’ ability to achieve real results for the citizens of their states through compromise and common sense policymaking. From breaking down barriers to entering the workforce, to revitalizing crumbling infrastructure, to expanding internet access to rural populations, as “laboratories of democracy,” the states provide a welcome contrast to the partisan gridlock of Washington, D.C.

Additional programming included sessions focused on critical policy areas including education, cybersecurity, rural healthcare, and workforce development.

The RGA also elected its 2020 leadership slate at the conference. Texas Governor Greg Abbott was elected as RGA Chairman and Arizona Governor Doug Ducey was elected as RGA Vice Chairman. The RGA’s Executive Committee for 2020 includes Governors Kim Reynolds of Iowa, Larry Hogan of Maryland, Charlie Baker of Massachusetts, Henry McMaster of South Carolina, Kristi Noem of South Dakota, Bill Lee of Tennessee, and Pete Ricketts of Nebraska, who served as RGA Chair in 2019. Additionally, Governor Eric Holcomb of Indiana was elected Policy Chairman, and Governor Doug Burgum of North Dakota was elected Policy Vice Chairman.