RGA Announces 2019 Leadership

Nebraska Gov. Pete Ricketts Elected RGA Chairman, Texas Gov. Greg Abbott Elected RGA Vice Chairman

WASHINGTON, D. C. – The Republican Governors Association announced today that Nebraska Governor Pete Ricketts was elected to serve as the RGA Chairman for 2019. Additionally, Texas Governor Greg Abbott was elected to serve as RGA Vice Chairman. Both assume the positions immediately and will serve for a one-year duration.

“Governor Pete Ricketts has been an outstanding leader for Nebraska, and as Chairman of the RGA, I know he will translate that success into ensuring that the RGA remains the most effective political organization in the nation,” said outgoing RGA Chairman Governor Bill Haslam. “As Governor, Ricketts has been an instrumental part of RGA leadership, and he will use that experience to help Republicans add to their ranks of governorships in 2019.”

“The RGA is the most effective political organization in the country, and I am honored to serve as RGA Chairman for 2019,” said Governor Pete Ricketts. “Republican governors are delivering results, achieving meaningful reform, making government more efficient and effective, and moving their states forward. I am deeply honored to serve in this role as we work together to help Republicans elect even more reform-minded leaders across America over the next year.”

“Republican governors are leading the way in creating unprecedented economic growth and greater opportunities across America,” said Governor Greg Abbott. “I’m honored to serve as RGA Vice Chairman and to help elect even more Republican governors who will reform their states for the better.”

Joining Governor Ricketts and Governor Abbott on the RGA’s Executive Committee for 2019 will include Doug Ducey of Arizona, Asa Hutchinson of Arkansas, Kim Reynolds of Iowa, Charlie Baker of Massachusetts, Phil Bryant of Mississippi, Doug Burgum of North Dakota, and Kristi Noem of South Dakota. Additionally, Governor Eric Holcomb of Indiana was elected RGA Policy Chairman, and Governor Matt Bevin of Kentucky was elected RGA Policy Vice Chairman.